Institute of Certified Bookkeepers
First Previous - Page 1 of 1 - Next Last

November Question of the Month - 2 Employers but only 1 being paid what do you do.

• Fellow in Practice
  • Practice Certificate
  • 259 posts
  • # 95379

I have been bookkeeping for a business for over 10 years. I recently had a conversation with an employee and it came out that this employee and her daughter were both working for the business, however the payment for both employees was only going to one person, the mother.

Therefore employee A works 5 hours, employee B works 5 hours. Employee A is paid 10 hours so as not to affect employee B earnings, because she was also employed somewhere else.

This was news to me and in fact a shock. Could you please offer some advice as to the best way to handle this situation. While I do not wish to lose a long standing client, it is more important to me that I do not put my registration as a BAS Agent into question by potentially contravening the Professional Code of Conduct I agreed to uphold for ICB and TPB.

How should you and your client handle this situation?

What do you do?

• Fellow in Practice
  • Practice Certificate
  • 259 posts
  • # 96693

ICB's Response:

What you can do first is inform the client of their legal obligations as an employer and point out what they are doing incorrectly. Advise them of the implications for yourself and the BAS reporting of the PAYG withholding. Not to mention workcover. This is possibly one of the most important areas — what if Employee B is injured at work?

You don’t have to cease the relationship immediately. Because you didn’t know about the situation until now, what the employer has been doing incorrectly before won’t affect your professional status. The employer would be held liable for allowing this illegal employment arrangement. But now that you DO know what’s happening, you are right that you need to take action.

So the issues to raise in discussion are: